U-High Midway


U-High Midway newspaper, published since 1923 at the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools.


Gold Crown Award Print: 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2018

Silver Crown Award Print: 1989, 1996, 2000, 2009, 2010, 2011

Other: Trendsetter Award, 1975


Pacemaker Award Winner: Undated Pre-1968, 1968, 1970, 1972, 1980, 1984, 1990, 1991, 1994, 2001

Pacemaker Award, Regional or Finalist only: 2000, 2017

NSPA Hall of Fame: U-High Midway newspaper, 1988; U-Highlights yearbook, 1996

Other: Five Star Award, 1978

Convention Best of Show: First Place 1987, 1990; Other places: Seattle 2017, Third, Tabloid ≤16 pages

QUILL & SCROLL, University of Iowa, Iowa City



Illinois Journalist of the Year: 2017 Marissa Martinez (runner-up); 2015 Michael Glick (runner-up)

All-State Journalism Team: 2018 Priyanka Shrijay; 2017 Marissa Martinez; 2016 Grace Anderson; 2015 and 2014 Michael Glick; 2011 Sydney Scarlata; 2010 Nick Chaskin; 2009 Gabriel Bump; 2008 Liwen Xu; 2007 Jeremy Lacocque; 2005 Joseph Bernardoni and Danielle Goldman

2018 Newspaper and Digital News Media Contest

The contest groups schools based on enrollment, so U-High competes in a division of schools typically about 600 students or fewer. Up to two entries per category per school could be submitted for the contests, which covered March 2017 to March 2018.


Priyanka Shrijay was also named to the All-State Journalism Team, one of 14 Illinois high school journalists to receive the honor. The award recognizes those students who have proven themselves indispensable to their respective school media. Priyanka will be honored in Springfield June 2. This is the fourth year in a row a U-High Midway staff member has made the team.

Best Overall Publication (Print, Digital or Hybrid)

U-High Midway

Best Print Publication

U-High Midway

Best Overall Design

2nd: U-High Midway

Best News Story

1st: Leah Emanuel, “Through walkout, students show solidarity with Parkland survivors”

2nd: Michael Rubin, “Faculty union, director at odds about new policy”

Best In-Depth News Story

1st: Dheven Unni, “Class Clouds”

Honorable mention: Natalie Glick, “Expert urges discomfort for teens”

Best Feature Story

1st: Sam Fleming, “Cold winter, warm hearts”

Honorable mention: Emma Trone, “Is U-High worth it?”

Best Personality Profile

1st: Priyanka Shrijay, “Beauty in death: Junior taxidermies to honor creatures”

2nd: Emma Trone, “Forming unexpected community”

Best Sports News Story

2nd: Samira Glaeser-Khan, “New measures to protect athletes from head injury”

3rd: Sonny Lee, “Kneel for awareness”

Best Sports Feature Story

1st: Sonny Lee, “Rising higher than fear, falling and failure”

2nd: Emma Trone, “New year, new healthful habits”

Best Sports Commentary

2nd: Michael Rubin, “Olympics should empower LGBT athletes”

2nd: Abby Slimmon, “Let’s focus on reason for taking a knee, police brutality”

Best Staff Editorial 

1st: Michael Rubin, “Making use of their ‘seat at the table’”

3rd: Natalie Glick, “Conservative students entitled to safe space, too”

Best Review

1st: Michael Rubin, “Chicago art museum showcases U.S. history”

Best News or Feature Photos

3rd: Amanda Levitt, “Not just for the rich”

Honorable mention: Teresa Xie, “Signs of support”

Best Sports Photo

1st: Sam Fleming, “Kick off”

Best Infographic

1st: Sam Fleming, “Stories behind the statistics”

2nd: Jacob Posner, “Class Clouds”

Best Alternative Storytelling

2nd: Jacob Posner and Sonny Lee, “A fresh view of U-High”

Best Use of Social Media

1st: Facebook, University of Chicago Laboratory High School

Honorable Mention: Snapchat, University of Chicago Laboratory High School

Best Headline (design)

Honorable mention: Jacob Posner, “Class Clouds”

Best Single-Page Story Package

1st: Emma Trone, Sports, “Gold and Glory at the Games”

2nd: Michael Rubin, News, “Who will lead our state?”

Best Centerspread Story Package

1st: Talia Goerge-Karron, Dheven Unni, Natalie Glick, “Stop and Listen”

2nd: Sam Fleming, “Cold Winter, Warm Hearts”


Best Photo Story

1st: Sam Fleming, “Joy in Chicago”

Best Front-Page Design

1st: Samira Glaeser-Khan, Oct. 12, 2017

2nd: Dheven Unni, March 8, 2018

Best Audio Podcast

1st: Emma Trone, Priyanka Shrijay, Michael Rubin, “Walkout”

2nd: Emma Trone, “Audio Extra — Chinese Exchange Students”

The Student News Site of University of Chicago Laboratory High School