U-High publications receive national recognition

Ethan Swinger, Reporter

U-High’s publications, the U-High Midway and the U-Highlights yearbook, have received national awards. 

Five Midway staff members received Gold Circle Awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association. 

Individual winners are Christian Gluth, first place, sports commentary; Priyanka Shrijay, first place, single-subject news or feature package, single-page design; Emma Trone, first place, single-subject news or feature package, double-truck; Audrey Matzke, second place, sidebar writing and lastly Ella Beiser and Grace Zhang, certificate of merit, alternative story form.

From the National Scholastic Press Association, Audrey Matzke was also named one of 10 national finalists for Editorial of the Year, while a podcast from 2019 graduates Emma Trone and Jacob Posner, “The Bubble,” is a finalist in both Digital Story of the Year and Social Justice Reporting.

The 2019 yearbook was named one of the 10 finalists for the design of the year from the NSPA.

The publications by U-High “Really shows that U-High Journalists do great work as they are recognized on a national level,” said Midway adviser Logan Aimone.