U-Highlights staff win national awards


Audrey Park

The 2021 U-Highlights yearbook won the NSPA best of show and placed ninth in the 144-264 page yearbook category.

Louis Auxenfans, Assistant Editor

The U-Highlights staff recently won national awards for their yearbook work. 

In the National Scholastic Press Association Best of Show, the 2021 U-Highlights placed ninth in the 144- to 264-page category. 

Katie Baffa, a co-editor-in-chief of U-Highlights, said that it was difficult to produce the yearbook during the pandemic because the staff had to adjust to working without photographers and the remote environment of interviews.

“It was definitely rewarding to know that we received an award, and this year, we’re committed to producing an even better book so with that, we’re hoping that we’ll get an even better award,” Katie said.

Members of the yearbook staff also won awards in the Journalism Education Association National Student Media Contests. 

  • Lillian Coe, superior, yearbook copy/caption: student life
  • Katie Baffa, excellent, yearbook copy/caption: sports
  • Peter Stern, honorable mention, yearbook copy/caption: academics
  • Sarina Zhao, honorable mention, yearbook copy/caption: clubs