Pennington, Bickham to lead Student Council

Top three roles were unopposed


Midway Staff

Brent Pennington moved from being Junior Class president to all-school president.

Nicky Edwards-Levin, Editor-in-chief

In an election April 30, students gave a vote of confidence to three of their peers with long histories in student government who ran unopposed for higher office. Brent Pennington will be all-school president, Kennedi Bickham will be vice president and Saul Arnow will be Cultural Union president.

Contested elections resulted in Peter Stern, secretary; Taig Singh, treasurer and Katie Baffa, Cultural Union vice president.

The Class of 2022 officers will be Zach Gin, president; Ardith Hunter, vice president; Alma Moskowitz and Alina Susani, Cultural Union representatives.

The Class of 2023 officers will be Fermi Boonstra, president; Graham Robbins, vice president; Akshay Badlani and Maile Nacu, Cultural Union representatives.

Fermi and Graham held the same positions this year, and ran unopposed.

The Class of 2024 officers will be Zoe Nathwani, president; Kaavya Shriram, vice president; Adam Cheema and Willow Stern, Cultural Union representatives.

Students voted in a new, ranked-choice voting system, where candidates were awarded different amounts of points based on how high a student ranked them. The specific breakdown of student voting was not made available by Student Council.

The school-wide turnout was 79.7%, according to information released by the Student Council. Percentages of each grade voting are: ninth graders, 77.1%; sophomores, 75.2%; juniors, 86.9%.